VINTAGE 1978 Mattel HUG N’ TALK NAPPER the dog plush toy

23 Oct

VINTAGE 1978 Mattel HUG N’ TALK NAPPER the dog

In 1978, Mattel produced a dog named hug n’ talk Napper. He was 13″ long with light brown fur with ears and tail being a darker brown. He has a distinctive patch on his back that is shaped like a daisy. The patch says, “hug me”. When Napper is squeezed he says 6 different phrases: My name is Napper,  I get so lonely,  You’re so good to me,  Ruff ruff rub my tummy,  Im sleepy,  Ruff ruff ruff. Napper does not require batteries; instead he has a record player inside of him. He is like the more familiar pull-string talking toys except instead of a pull-string starting the talking mechanism, a squeeze does.

You can see the distinctive daisy patch on his back

I sold this rare toy for $500.00 on eBay in 2011.

Subscribe Today

Family Friendly Content – 100’s of FUN toy videos for kids!

 

your place for affordable quality preowned toys

Your place for affordable quality preowned toys!

 

Thanks for visiting Katrina’s Toy Blog!

 

 

10 Responses to “VINTAGE 1978 Mattel HUG N’ TALK NAPPER the dog plush toy”

  1. maria April 1, 2012 at 9:57 pm #

    I am interested in purchasing napper stuffed animal.

    Like

  2. katrina9799 April 1, 2012 at 10:03 pm #

    He is for sale at our website http://www.katrinastoys.com
    Here is the direct link to his ad:
    http://store01.prostores.com/servlet/katrinastoys/the-2015/VINTAGE-1978-Mattel-HUG/Detail

    Thanks for visiting my blog!

    Like

  3. don hardy September 2, 2014 at 8:38 pm #

    hi, I have a 1978 napper dog in good working what would it be worth now

    Like

    • katrina9799 January 7, 2015 at 10:55 pm #

      Hello.
      I do toy appraisals and would be happy to appraise your toy.
      Here is the information:

      Toy Appraisals

      Sincerely,
      Katrina

      Like

  4. fiddlingwithfire June 5, 2018 at 4:51 am #

    I have this exact same Napper and he still talks!

    Like

    • Katrina June 9, 2018 at 3:37 am #

      Fantastic hard to find collectors item!

      Like

Leave a comment