Doll Doctor Terri Crane restores vintage 1960’s Mattel toys, dolls & puppets!

20 Apr

Terri and her fully restored Mrs. Beasley dolls

Terri Crane is a doll doctor and owner of www.mattelcollectables.com. Her shop is filled with many fully restored toys, dolls, and puppets made by Mattel in the 1960’s.

I had the good fortune to message with Terri recently! Below is our interview:

Katrina: What is a doll doctor?

Terri Crane: A doll doctor is one that restores and repairs vintage dolls or dolls of any sort.

Katrina: How do you become a doll doctor?

Terri Crane: I went to a doll doctor in Kentucky and took classes for 2 weeks.

Katrina: What made you want to become a doll doctor?

Terri Crane: I wanted to become a doll doctor because when I got my childhood doll I was so happy and elated, ( I looked for 15 years) then came e-bay and I found like 50 of them lol. Well needless to say I bought the nicest one for 325.00 and when I got her, like I said I was so happy I just decided I wanted to bring others joy like that. And I’ve always been pretty crafty so I looked up a doll doctor in Kentucky and stayed for 2 weeks to learn how.

Katrina: How long does it take to restore the average toy or doll?

Terri Crane:  It takes an average of 2 to 4 days to complete a doll.

Katrina: How do you match original fabrics of a toy or doll when a piece of its clothing or a limb is missing?

Terri Crane:  The only way to match fabric is to have another doll just like it because they no longer make the fabric or the parts you may need to fix a vintage doll.

Katrina: We see that some of your items were featured on the Oprah Winfrey show. What was that like?
Terri Crane: Oprah’s Harpo studio’s contacted me. Seen my dolls on my website and contacted me. Then a producer called me and wanted to hear my doll talk over the phone. Then they sent a Fed Ex to pick some of my dolls up. Then the Oprah’s assistant called and asked If I would like to have tickets to the show that my dolls were going to be on. Of course I said yes. The show was called Oprah’s 60s show. THEN after the show Oprah said she wanted to purchase the doll. So needless to say we worked out a great deal for the doll.
Katrina: What type of projects do you have coming up in the near future?

Terri Crane:  There is a new reality show on the TLC channel on Tues nights called “What the Sell”
and the first show premiered on April 29th. They had my Herman Munster on. In the coming months my daughter will be on the show with my Cuddly Dudley and I will be on with my Mrs. Beasley.

Katrina: That is very exciting! As a toy lover, I am very happy to see toys getting some attention in the media. Congratulations to you and the great success that you are having!

Oprah and Terri Cranes chatty cathy

Two of Terri’s dolls were featured in Oprah’s Favorite things from the 1960’s episode. Oprah is holding a Chatty Cathy doll. The doll speaks 11 phrases when her Chatty Ring is pulled. According to Oprah.com,
when Oprah was a little girl growing up in Mississippi, she says she really wanted a Chatty Cathy doll, but her family couldn’t afford to pay $16 in 1962. Now, Cathy’s finally going home with Oprah! “They told me that I can have her after this show,” she says.

Autographed picture that Oprah gave to Terri

Above is an autograph picture Oprah sent to Terri with other gifts of her appreciation of finally finding her childhood treasure.

What the Sell on TLC network

Terri’s Herman Munster will be featured in the April 29th episode of TLC’s What the sell. Later episodes will feature Terri’s daughter with Cuddly Dudley and Terri Herself with Mrs. Beasley. 

Terri’s toy shop is at http://www.mattelcollectables.com. Her store features fully restored dolls made by Mattel in the 1960’s. Currently she has 58 toys, dolls & puppets for sale. Among them are: Bozo the clown, Bernie Bernard Yacker, Chatty Cathy, Crackers the parrot, Cuddly Dudley, Drowsy and Herman Munster to name a few!  In addition, if you have a treasured toy from your childhood that you would like to be like new again, Terri can help you with that! Contact her at mattelcollectables@yahoo.com

 Terri is on youtube! Her channel is terribear61’s channel. She features 19 videos of talking dolls, toys, and puppets Made by Mattel in the 1960’s. View and subscribe to her chanel here: http://www.youtube.com/user/terribear61

 
Find Terri on Face Book. She is Terri’s Matteltoys (mattel talkers). Click here: http://www.facebook.com/home.php#!/profile.php?id=100001962772646
 
I would like to thank Terri Crane for taking valuable time out of her busy schedule to interview with me!
 
Thanks for visiting!
 
Watch clips of Dancing, Talking, and singing toys!

We invite you to visit our youtube channel Katrina9799’s Toy Channel. We feature videos of toys that talk, sing, move and dance! All the toys featured are toys that are, (or have been), available in our vintage toy store www.katrinastoys.com. Subscribe today!

 

http://www.katrinastoys.com

Katrina9799s Household Variety shop specializes in toys of all types: plush, fast food, Disneyana, dolls, bears, actions figures, puppets & more! We have 1000′s of great toys for sale! Stop by and see what treasures we have for you! Katrina9799′s is the place for toy collectors!

 

5 Responses to “Doll Doctor Terri Crane restores vintage 1960’s Mattel toys, dolls & puppets!”

  1. Vinita Pash April 20, 2011 at 12:35 pm #

    some authentically nice and utilitarian information on this internet site , likewise I believe the style has got superb features. I love this post. Very well written.

    • katrina9799 April 21, 2011 at 7:00 pm #

      Thankyou for the compliment, that means alot to me!

  2. Melanie Sims May 4, 2011 at 5:30 am #

    Do you have a Gentle Ben Bear or know where I could find one? I’ve been searching for a few months now with no luck. I think what you do is great. There are alot of us out there trying to find our best loved, childhood toy.
    Thanks!

    • katrina9799 May 4, 2011 at 8:40 pm #

      Hello! Thankyou for bringing Gentle Ben the Talking bear to my attention! He is made in 1967 by Mattel. I will contact Terri Crane and see if she has any Gentle Ben. Terri’s items are GREAT as she can make them talk once again!

      I do not currently have any gentle ben, but will surely be on the ‘hunt’ for one. Of course being very old, the one I find will likely be in very used condition and will not talk. If you find one, you could ship it to Terri Crane and she could restore it/make it talk once again for you!

      Thanks for visiting my blog! I will contact you if I come across Gentle Ben.

  3. Daniella Smith September 13, 2011 at 11:40 pm #

    Doll Doctor Terri Crane restores vintage 1960′s Mattel toys, dolls & puppets have a big chance to aspire our kid to be a doctor someday if it would be our kids toy

Leave a Reply

